Dairy Farm – Ashland, VA

After driving down Rt 1, there was one other place in town I wanted to visit before it was torn down: the old Luck Dairy Farm just outside the Ashland town limits. It’s not on Route 1 but the property will soon be turned into a new housing development. The wide swaths of fields on either side of W. Patrick Henry Road – about 270 acres – will be filled with houses and a lot of traffic.

While the silos on one side were hard to photograph, much less get close to because of all the overgrowth, I attempted a few shots:

route one 2016 040

route one 2016 051

route one 2016 052

Across the road was the main house. If I owned this house, I’d never have left it. I don’t know why the family gave up on it. It’s is bad shape but it’s still beautiful. The sides have been taken over by ivy and bushes and all the things that grow when allowed to without check.

route one 2016 032

route one 2016 042

The front porch was being slowly taken over as well but it hadn’t disappeared quite yet.

route one 2016 035

Can’t say the same for the porch swing. This is probably my favorite photograph of this whole project so far.

route one 2016 038

Here’s a close up of the front door:

route one 2016 036

It’s the quintessential Southern home. I can’t tell you how many houses like this I’ve visited in my life. It’s my idea of a dream house. I wish I could have it.I’ll be terribly sad when it’s torn down.

I did peek in the door to get a glimpse of the entryway:

route one 2016 037

Such a beautiful room and staircase. In the back you can tell that something dreadful and collapsed. But before we move around to the back of the house, here are a couple more shots of other parts:

route one 2016 041

route one 2016 045

Ah, you can see it here. The back part of what was probably the kitchen. It’s fallen in. Here are two more shots of that:

route one 2016 046

Ouch.

route one 2016 047

I don’t what would do that. A tree? Who knows?  Finally, behind the house, I discovered a swimming pool. The saddest pool I’ve ever seen.

route one 2016 049

So lonely. Finally, in the distance beyond the pool I noticed a couple of little houses on the property – tenant housing? Worker housing? Lunch hour was up so I couldn’t explore more.

route one 2016 050

And that ends my January Ashland excursion. Spring is on its way so I’m busy with my garden and will be starting a weekend job soon. I’m hoping to get out some time soon and finish my voyage south past Dinwiddie. But if not, I’ll be keeping my eyes open for more abandoned treasures.

4 thoughts on “Dairy Farm – Ashland, VA

  1. Hello – I found your very interesting article and felt I needed to respond, especially since you seem to have a fondness for the old Luck farmstead. I am a civil engineer for Hanover County and am currently reviewing the subdivision plan for this development. It breaks my heart a little. As I look at the plan and topography, my mind keeps racing back to these various locations on the farm many years ago, and the adventures I had there. I moved to Hanover County back in the late 70s/early 80s having grown up in Ireland sine I was quite young (born in St Louis though). Still in my teens, and not knowing many people in Hanover yet, I quickly discovered Lucks Farm and having obtained a fishing permit from Cabell Luck himself, I’d spend many long days fishing the ponds and shooting my 22 rifle. In fact, I remember like it was yesterday driving up to the old house in my beaten up Vega, and seeing Mr. Luck open that black door and step out onto the porch to great me with what seemed to be the biggest, scariest dog I have ever seen. But both the dog and Mr. Luck could not have been nicer and more accommodating. Your observation about the houses for farm help were correct. There were 3-4 small framed houses on the opposite side of #54 from the main house (they were located west side of #54) that housed what could only be described as some very hardened, wild folks. Since I spent so much time there, we all inevitably became friends and they let me into their world which could only be described as wildly Appalachian in nature. I think one of the families was named Woody. I became pretty good friends with the son (who called himself Woody) who was a hired farm hand and looked just plain wild. If you did not know him, and he walked up to you on the street, you’d be scared to death. But he was as nice and generous as could be. I remember I got my car hopelessly stuck way in the back fields (all wetlands…..total idiot move) and was scared that Mr. Luck would find out and bar me from his property. “Woody” came back and just grinned a little and said he’d be back in a few minutes. He went and got a huge tractor, pulled me out, and saved my good standing with Cabell Luck! Sometime in the 80s I “switched” ponds and started spending all my fishing time on Kings Pond just across the road from the Lucks Ponds (all of these ponds are tributaries of Falling Creek) where I could keep a boat, and where the fishing was a little better. I stopped going by to see my “wild” friends at Lucks. Every time I drive by that farm I wonder what happened to them. As the years went by the small cottages slowly became the victim of time, just like the main house has. In fact I think they are totally gone now. The farm workers disappeared, presumably to a farm elsewhere. I think the farm’s downfall really accelerated when the main barn (right by #54) burned one night. That seemed to be the final nail. One last thing, in a total clash of cultures I took a childhood friend who was here visiting me from Ireland out there to fish. He got to meet all the wild farm kids, and they were both equally amused with each other’s accents and mannerisms. Even though they were both speaking English (at least some form), I don’t think they actually understood a word either way! It was truly hysterical. He may as well have been from another planet in their eyes. And I think the feeling was mutual in his. I remember one of the farm girls, a really wildly pretty girl with raven black hair took a fancy to him. He was scared….ha! Anyway, I have gone on too long, just thought you might find some of this a little interesting. It’s nice to see someone else out there cares about the old place. Unfortunately it is truly doomed. Thank goodness for your great photos. I did note that on the plan I am reviewing there is supposed to be some sort of “historical marker” on the site. Not sure what that’s all about. I will have to inquire with my Planning Department colleagues for details. Thanks again for all the great photos and the story.

    Bob Breckenkamp

    Like

    1. Bob, thanks so much for your story! Every day that the farm remains as-is, is a good day. It will be very sad when the house, the silos, the pool, the dependencies that still exist, are gone and bland expensive houses take their places.

      Like

    1. I wish I knew. When the developer bought that piece of property – 52 acres where the house stands – it wiped out all the old info. I have a few more places to look. I’m guessing it’s probably turn of the last century – 1895-1910-ish. I’m worried about the silos across the road. I hope those remain when all the awful new houses are built.

      Like

Leave a comment